Troubleshooting: truck is scrap, or incompetent garage?

Discussion in 'Heavy Duty Diesel Truck Mechanics Forum' started by IhaulDonkey, Dec 9, 2018.

1. IhaulDonkey

IhaulDonkey Bobtail Member

Dec 9, 2018
    I have been driving this 2009 GMC cabover for about 3 months. It is always asking for a regen, even on the highway. We have had it in for maintenance 2 times in this period of time for losing power. The guys apparently couldn't figure out what was wrong with it, because it had power for a couple of days and then none again. Someone had the idea to burn out the exhaust (I am not using the right words because I am new to this and still learning), and it ran OK for about 4 weeks, and then the regen lights started coming back on intermittently. Doing manual regen doesn't ever make the light go away. Now yesterday after it asked for manual regen at idle several times. I did it, but it when I pulled away to start my route, it would shudder, and finally lost power. Wouldn't go over 10mph. Going to schedule it in for repair AGAIN, and gritting my teeth because garages keep it for like ten days and it STILL doesn't work. Frustrated to death...is this thing just a POS, or are our mechanics useless?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. bryan21384

bryan21384 Road Train Member

Sep 18, 2009
    Memphis, TN
    Is your mechanic trained in these newer exhaust systems?

4. IhaulDonkey

Dec 9, 2018