truck stop ettiquit to grill or not to grill

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by southbaydad, Dec 17, 2009.

1. southbaydad

southbaydad Light Load Member

Dec 10, 2009
    Arizona
    since I am new to otr trucking but enjoy barbecueing at home, is it legal or frowned on by the truck stop "police" lol if they exist---- to have a small barbecue and crank it up (charcoal or propane) (like a small camping stove or charbroil type)in the lot to barbcue up some burgers , dogs, sausages, corn or whatever? you know -- good ole home cooked food would be a nice treat and maybe "cheaper " treat than the ole greasy spoons.all the time... does this happen or would it be really weird. Maybe the truck stop manager /food/ restaurant manager might frown on it?? of course you would have to make sure you had some open space ie: not cookin up next to the fuel tanks----duh.. !

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. REDD

REDD The Legend

Jun 29, 2009
    Dueling Banjoville
    Back row BBQ's happen daily!

southbaydad Thanks this.
  4. truckerdave1970

truckerdave1970 On Probation

Dec 15, 2008
    Rochester, NY
    Just like most things, always better to ask permission than beg for forgiveness!
    I've carried around a small propane grill for a few years now and when I get a chance to take my kids with me we LOVE the real beef Oscar Mayer weiners! (cuz mom only buys the generic brand) My daughter told me she never knew hot dogs tasted that good! I told her it was the special ingredient a.k.a. diesel exhaust, that made 'em taste so good.

southbaydad Thanks this.
  5. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009
    Copied in Hell
    You said it, Redd!

Mr Southbay, I notice the oversize banner on the front of your rig. Heres what you do: