Truck Stop Public Violence - How To Handle It?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by GhentSaintPeters, Aug 16, 2019.

1. GhentSaintPeters

GhentSaintPeters Light Load Member

Jul 16, 2019
    im a new driver, only been driving a since January 2019, and tonight was the 1st time I've experienced anything like this OTR. And yeah, I'm an OTR driver driving nationally.

So tonight at the truck stop it's dark and I'm in the back of my cab on my bed, playing around on my phone. I hear loud voices. Weird, but ok, whatever.

The loud voices turn into crying and shrieking, with the shrieking sounding more like anger and not scared. If that makes sense.

I pull the curtains back and look up front out my drivers side window, and the team drivers who have been parked beside me for the last few hours are now in between their truck and mine, screaming and shouting at each other.

This escalates about 10 seconds later into a few haymakers being thrown and one of them being shoved into THEIR (not mine) back of the cab.

I now do not know what to do. But here's the thing - they are both female, black and yelling at each other in a dialect that the lower class speaks in. Now look, I'm not trying to be mean or hateful or anything, but this is important to note because I am a white male.

This all happened very quickly but I decided not to intervene or step outside and instead I grabbed my hammer just in case one of them tried to make a go at me in my cab (obviously they wouldn't, but heat of the moment instincts kicked in on my part). I was ready to call the truck stop inside and 911 if it looked like death or serious injury would have occurred.

However, after I grabbed my hammer, the skirmish had ended and one of the females got back in the truck, while the other sat down beside the front tire of her truck and was crying very loudly. The female by the tire was the one who had lost the skirmish.

Now, for this instance I think I was 100% in the right to do what I did.