Truck Stops? v Grocery Store

Discussion in 'Truck Stops' started by Black Warrior, Dec 6, 2017.

1. Black Warrior

Black Warrior Bobtail Member

Sep 15, 2017
    I'm not a trucker yet. I'm studying right now for the test and plan on going out to school in a couple months. I workout everyday. Calesthenics mainly. I am concerned about food on the road.

I hear the stops have horrible food. And it's expensive. My diet consists of bananas, peanuts, and other fruit mainly. Sandwiches and wheat bread. Is it possible to get to an actual grocery store at any time while driving?

I hear there is a 24 or 36 hour reset where you do not drive and so may be able to pick up essential things needed? I just want to be able to somehow manage my weight and fitness without losing my progress while on the road.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. driverdriver

driverdriver Road Train Member

May 30, 2011
    There are many places to shop for groceries including wal mart.

4. Warrior Pump

Warrior Pump Light Load Member

Jan 2, 2015
    Sometimes grocery stores/Wal-Marts are within walking distance of truck stops.

driverdriver Thanks this.
  5. STexan

STexan Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2011
    Longview, TX
    You will find that grocery stores and Walmarts and the like that are "truck friendly" or near truck stops are far and few between but they are here and there. We never bobtail anywhere so this makes things more problematic as opposed to working at some gigs where you may typically bobtail somewhere a few times a month

If you will be OTR and staying out for extended periods, the best bet is to stock up heavily on the nonperishables from your preferred list while home. Try and keep your dining expectations realistic. The simpler and less complicated your preferred foods list is, the better.