Trucker transition to a Freight broker in CA with no experience

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by thebusinessman, Sep 12, 2017.

1. thebusinessman

thebusinessman Bobtail Member

Sep 12, 2017
    How do I make the transition from a Truck driver to a Freight broker in CA with transferable skills but no freight broker experience? I'm looking for an opportunity to work for and learn from the best freight brokers or broker. I'm professional self motivated and I also have the skills & mind set that failure is not an option, coupled with focus and the drive for success.

Here's a glimpse of my background; I have been driving for around three years and have learned alot of the basic's of the trucking industry and mainly how some of the industry works from a drivers stand point. As a teenager I worked in countless warehouses before starting a career in the Mortgage industry which lasted for 20 plus yrs, I also have three Microsoft certifications. Then I started with a reputable Truck driving school and obtained my CDL, Haz, Comb, Doub, Trpl endorsements and TWIC card.

Then they started me out with a 2016 international sleeper as a company driver paid hourly hauling 53 foot dry & refer trailers, drop & hook, live loads, regional & local, rail & port chassis & containers. Then I switched to a company that put me in there day cab and let's me be a contractor where I was paid per load; working with dispatch and brokers directly as a LA/Long Beach Port driver hauling chassis & 20, 40, & 45 foot containers locally drop & hook, live load and unload. Currently to the date; I've maintained no tickets no accidents in hopes to carrier these new skills into my brokerage as a broker and backup driver.

So where do I go from here?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. PPDCT

PPDCT Road Train Member

Jun 15, 2017
    St. Paul, MN