Trucking company job postings–Truth vs lies

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Life on Wheels, Aug 14, 2020.

1. Life on Wheels

Life on Wheels Light Load Member

Aug 17, 2019
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Hey y'all.
    I'm currently a tanker driver who hauls regionally out west. I've always driven tanker, but when COVID-19 hit, things slowed down and my company found some dry van loads to haul to keep us busy for a few months. I'm back on tanker now, but honestly, I kinda liked the dry van. It was my first time ever in a 53' trailer with axles forward, and it was cool getting to see a different side of the trucking industry.
    So I'm considering going OTR with dry van, but looking at the ads on Craigslist and Indeed, I see some companies promising $80k/yr or more for drivers with two years experience. They're starting you at over 50¢ per mile and promising over 3,000 miles per week. I always thought dry van was closer to 42¢ per mile and 2,500 miles per week.

Is that just for rookie drivers? Is that what mega carriers pay? Are there really high paying freight jobs out there for experienced drivers? How do you know if they're lying in the ad?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. rachi

rachi Road Train Member

Feb 25, 2010
    SoCal
    Dryvan is at the bottom of the food chain. Reefer pays a little better if you dont mind setting in docks for 5 hours and a lot of night driving.

Northern Nomad and bentstrider83 Thank this.
  4. rachi

rachi Road Train Member

Feb 25, 2010
    SoCal
    You already have this thread in another section.

God prefers Diesels Thanks this.
  5. Life on Wheels

Aug 17, 2019
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    My bad. I didn't realize that was against the rules. Should I delete one? Maybe I should delete my whole account. How much trouble do you think I'm in with administration?

6. Gdog66223

Gdog66223 Road Train Member