Trucking school, will I make more money?

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by Valen87, Jul 4, 2017.

1. Valen87

Valen87 Bobtail Member

Jul 4, 2017
    I have not yet started trucking school but I'm contemplating going by mid July. I just want to know would it be worth quitting my job at Fedex office. I'm a full time pud driver but I'd like to earn more money. My checks aren't a $1000 biweekly so I just want to know would this be a good decision.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    You will have to consider how expensive it is to live on the road. Truck school these days are expensive. Several thousands of dollars. Fed ex is supposed to be a stable concern, if you don't like your position there, find another? Try to stay with what you know rather than risking everything on something you have so much to learn.

Danny N Angel and Puppage Thank this.
  4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    $1000 bi-weekly is chump change in trucking if the pay period is every 2 weeks.
    Yes, go to cdl school and start making some decent paychecks. Get all the endorsements before graduating from cdl school.
    Where is your location? Need to know the hiring area you live in.

5. Valen87

Valen87 Bobtail Member

Jul 4, 2017
    Fedex is a stable company but I'm still relatively young and I also want to finish my bachelor degree which I have to pay out of pocket. If the pay was more I wouldn't consider leaving but it's difficult to save with that amount of pay. I don't have a home and my bills are minimal, I also don't have any children. I have a cdl permit for Illinois but I'm considering working at prime inc. which is in another state.

6. Mortarmaggot

Mortarmaggot Heavy Load Member

Apr 13, 2017