Trying to start a career in trucking

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Kt0595, Mar 8, 2018.

1. Kt0595

Kt0595 Bobtail Member

Mar 7, 2018
    Im completely new to truckers report. But I’m truly interested in getting a start in trucking so I came here for some advice. I’ve already talked to Chinatown already and he gave me some helpful advice. I wanted to get started in the right direction. My question is I talked to a beer distribution company today in my city. And they said they would hire me and get me my CDL. I had an accident with a failure to yield ticket but since it was my first offense all I have to do is take a defensive driving course and they’ll dismiss it. Do you think the distribution company would still hire and train me? And should I still list the citation even though it’ll be dismissed? Should I wait until after I take the driving class to apply? That’s the only spot that I have on my driving record. No prior tickets or anything.