Two Trucks...

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Sean, Jan 13, 2007.

1. Sean

Sean Bobtail Member

Jan 13, 2007
    Hello everyone,

Well I'm buying a Corral cleaning truck and will have it hopefully paid off in 2 years. My next step is to buy a Highway Rig and haul Dangerous goods B-Train. My question is will it pay off if I buy a Highway Rig and pay someone to drive it? I'll have 2 incomes coming in from the Corral Truck (Which will be paid off)and the Highway Rig. I'll be able to cover all insurance, repairs, Wages ect.. Also, is it hard getting a contract with a Petroleum company? And is it realistic for someone to work 310 billable hours a month driving B-Train?

I'm new to driving Rigs but have 3 cousins who own there own trucking outfits (one of them owns 13 trucks). I actually work for one of them who is getting me started in this. I am learning how to repair the Rigs myself and know quite a bit on the business side of it. But I want to expand into the Petroleum Industry in a few years. Any Comments will be much appreciated.. By the way I live in Alberta Canada...:toothy9:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Rawlco

Rawlco Medium Load Member

Aug 13, 2006
    Central Maine
    Many successful owner operators go out of business after buying their second truck. Hiring a driver is not as easy as it sounds. You may have a hard time luring a driver away from a company with good pay and benefits that you cannot match. A driver who jumps ship to get a job with you will probably jump ship again when he gets a better offer.