University of Arkansas Student Gathering Insight on Driver Shortage

Discussion in 'Questions To Truckers From The General Public' started by UA Student, Dec 1, 2017.

Will you be leaving the industry in the next 5 years?

1. Yes

6 vote(s)
    23.1%
  2. No

20 vote(s)
    76.9%
  1. UA Student

UA Student Bobtail Member

Dec 1, 2017
    Hello, I am a Supply Chain Management student at the U of A and I am trying to gather some driver insight on the driver shortage and your opinions on the industry. Here are some questions for you, feel free to answer what you like. I thought the best way to get solid information was to go to the people in the industry instead of just reading articles from people who don't have direct experience. Thank you for taking the time to answer some questions, and I appreciate all that you hard working people do!

- Why do you think there is a driver shortage?
    - What do you like or dislike about the industry currently?
    - Was there a golden age for drivers, and what was better about the industry then compared to now?
    - What has the industry done specifically that has pushed away drivers?
    - In your opinion, how does the industry need to change to solve the driver shortage issue?

Some of these questions are similar, but I hope you get what I'm trying to cover. Feel free to talk about anything I didn't ask.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. gentleroger

gentleroger Road Train Member

Jun 1, 2010
    Might I suggest searching the site for "driver shortage"? There are many, long, interesting threads already. Then ask follow up questions.

I would also look at the new driver training paradigm currently in use. The "driver shortage" becomes more understandable once you understand the pics poor training

UA Student Thanks this.
  4. DUNE-T

DUNE-T Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Detroit, MI