Veteran trucker pens open letter to car drivers

Discussion in 'Truckers News' started by drvrtech77, Jun 17, 2018.

1. drvrtech77

drvrtech77 Road Train Member

Mar 20, 2010
    I have a CDL and have been driving trucks off and on for the last 22 years. I drive straight trucks, which means they are not articulated like the “typical” 18 wheelers. But they can be just as heavy and just as dangerous. The past couple years I’ve driven a particular truck across the country from East to West, North to South. I tell you I’m part time because it’s not my profession; it’s just a skill. My day job is actually quite different than what you’d expect. I do this for fun and extra money. The fun is getting to see the countryside from a very comfortable seat 10′ off the ground. The extra money pays for really cool vacations and toys because it’s significant disposable income. I have logged more than a million miles between cars and trucks in my 40+yrs on this earth, with the vast majority of those in cars. I just want to qualify my background before I give my thoughts after returning from an East to West trip this past week, and how I so badly wish I could have communicated to drivers on the road. For many truckers, this is sort of a wish-list. For many immature readers, you’ll dismiss much of what I say because you think you’re cool or smart or whatever. But I truly hope you read and take away from this. I mean everything I say with sincerity.

On city streets and off the interstate, if a truck is turning, stop and give it room. Be patient. If it gets stuck trying to make a turn because you cut it off, wouldn’t move, or tried to drive under it, I assure you you’re going to wait a lot longer for it to get moving again than you would have by simply giving it some room and time to navigate.