Wanting to start my own company.

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Kevw45, Apr 11, 2021.

1. Kevw45

Kevw45 Light Load Member

Aug 1, 2019
    Hey, y'all! I'm thinking of starting my own business, but the one thing that is making me hesitant, is not knowing for sure how much money I can make daily, and I thought maybe somebody could give me some insight in what to expect. Basically, I want to make $750-$1000 daily, and just run within Texas, or maybe to Oklahoma, or Louisiana. I've subscribed to DAT one time last year, when freight was bad, and figured it would be possible, but there weren't many options, very slim pickings. I've worked as a company driver for over 10yrs, mostly locally. Recently I've been running out as far as I can go, and then turning around to come back. As a company driver, I'm used to just getting in and out of delivery places quickly, and where I'm scared to do things on my own, is not knowing if it works typically the same for O/O's, or are O/O's treated differently, (worse). Is there anyway of knowing in advance when you book a load for yourself, what to expect when you show up to these delivery places, or is it really just cross your fingers, and pray. I couldn't afford to book two loads, which is what it would take to meet my daily revenue goal, not be able to pick up the second, because my first delivery took 5 hours to unload... I'd go out of business! Any info helps, thanks, y'all!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Dino soar

Dino soar Road Train Member

Dec 8, 2017
    It's difficult to answer your question because different locations different types of freight different seasons all play into that. I think the question you should ask is what is the least amount of money could I survive on? Then anything beyond that you did well.