Watkins and Shepard Driving positions and pay???

Discussion in 'Watkins & Shepard' started by Johnnb, Jul 17, 2007.

1. Johnnb

Johnnb Light Load Member

Jun 6, 2007
    Dear Sir: [/FONT]

I am a new driver and will either work for Schneider National or Watkins and Shepard Trucking. I am ready for training for Schneider for the 28th of this month and Watkins and Shepard hopefully by the 30th of this month. I was told by several experienced drivers that Watkins and Shepard is a better company to work for in terms of driver incentives, pay, teams, respect and low turnover. I was also told that Schneider National has high turnover, low pay and more driver turnover. If you have looked at my posts you can see that I am trying to make the most informed decision one can make. I want to be careful in that I am entering this field completely green.
    If someone wanted to get into teaching, or wanted to know about becoming a real estate agent, I am their man. However, trucking is entirely new to me and I just want a good start. Now as far as Watkins and Shepard is concerned, I was told that I can do OTR, Short-haul and local. In your opinion, which one is best to do when you first start out? Is the pay better in as an OTR driver? I don't know if you know anything about the company but I just need a little advice before joining. Thanks for any information that you can provide me. Have a good evening.

John

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Freightshaker

Freightshaker Bobtail Member

May 14, 2006
    I haven't worked for Shneider or any of the others. I know from talking to former Shneider drivers that they tend to pay less and demand more from drivers. I think you've already had some good advice. Go for one of the other companies you mentioned. Try to get short haul first because it will give you time at home and an adjustment period to get used to being a professional driver.