What about Gliders? DIY or purchase a kit?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by WildTxn, Feb 24, 2018.

1. WildTxn

WildTxn Light Load Member

Feb 19, 2018
    I will say that because I once rebuilt heavy machinery, and engines, I do have the experience and tools needed to put a glider together. However, I see most people have someone else do this. Can an individual still buy a glider kit? Are the engine, tranny, driveline and diff., rebuilders reputable? Is this a good way to get a custom sleeper? This probably would mean staying away from any runs into Cali.

If self assembled, would a glider save much money? Or maybe the savings would be later in fuel costs with a more efficient engine.

May want to add a switch so I can roll coal when I pass one of those tree hugging mini cooper 4 wheelers with all those peace signs though.

Do DOT roadworthy inspections respect well done glider assemblies by an individual?

While I am a very good mechanic from being in the machinery and gear business, that doesn't mean I want to continue doing this as I age. I would rather drive. Had enough of a taste of this to know it is the future. I actually have had a good taste of mountain driving with a 10 speed manual. Love it! Then again, I have always loved mountains in anything else too. Ya have to kiss fuel efficiency goodby, and add an extra hour or two to trip planning though.

Oldironfan Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Caterpillar Cowboy

Caterpillar Cowboy Heavy Load Member

Nov 11, 2010
    Wyoming
    You can still get one from KW or Pete, but I was talking with a Peterbilt dealer in December while getting hydraulic lines switched on a trailer I was buying from them, and he told me theres a good deal of trouble to get them. Something to do with Fitzgerald and the other dealer scale outfits buying all of the ones allocated from corporate.