What are benefits of working for Landstar if you are an experienced O/O?

Discussion in 'Landstar' started by OOwannaBE, Jun 1, 2015.

1. OOwannaBE

OOwannaBE Medium Load Member

Mar 12, 2015
    Nashville, TN
    Basically I am asking what is keeping guys leased to Landstar to stay with them? I am still a company driver and plan to drive for them for a few years. I am sure once everything becomes second nature like it is for me now as a company driver, once being an owner operator becomes second nature wouldnt I want to leave and get my own authority? Do you stick with Landstar so they can deal with most of the paperwork?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. OOwannaBE

Mar 12, 2015
    Nashville, TN
    Hmm, basically I am asking if you have the knowledge to be completely independent why lease to Landstar? I only ask to know what the benefits are to staying with Landstar.

4. KB3MMX

KB3MMX Road Train Member

Dec 29, 2014
    Orrstown, PA
    Get your own authority and be a Independent O/O not a Lease operator.
    You won't limit your work or rate possibilities if you become a independent MC.

sanchez51476 and OOwannaBE Thank this.
  5. JLT

JLT Light Load Member

Feb 27, 2012
    Have you checked the ins lately to have your own authority? I did they quoted me $17000. Per year for a 2014 Pete and 2015 utility reefer. That's why a lot of us don't get our own authority, if you know something I don't know then feel free to share the secret with everyone. I had my authority since 09 and let it lapse 3 yrs ago and now I'm considered a "new" company! Been driving since 87 with no claims in over 3 years like they ask, so that is why you don't just jump out there on your own , you act as if we are idiots, we're just trying to make it like everyone else on here.

6. OOwannaBE

Mar 12, 2015
    Nashville, TN