What do you guys think of this set-up?

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by BigDog Trucker, Dec 5, 2019.

1. BigDog Trucker

BigDog Trucker Heavy Load Member

Nov 4, 2018
    This is probably basic stuff to you guys, but I'm still fairly new at securing loads to flatbeds. Weight of the load was 46.5klbs. I was worried about having it evenly distributed across the axles and there was no scale at the yard before I headed back out.

Attached Files:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. JDHIGGINS44

JDHIGGINS44 Light Load Member

Jun 29, 2015
    Waynesburg, PA
    If I was to guess I'd say it would have axled out alright or very close, if it was me I would have went ahead and loaded starting at the neck rather than leaving the gap you did, but either way I say you were good. Also pay close attention to those block cubs even with your V boards over time they will be prone to walking out.

4. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado
    Looks like a crap load, what did you do to deserve that? Looks heavy on the ### end. I don't like that empty gap either, I'd run them tight agin the bulkhead.

5. BigDog Trucker

Nov 4, 2018
    Lol. I work for a construction outfit. If I'm not running a dump or hauling the equipment, they have me go pick up masonry supplies.

D.Tibbitt and 201 Thank this.
  6. BigDog Trucker

Nov 4, 2018
    10-4 on that. So if it was your load, you would have run those cubes starting out at the neck?

7. FoolsErrand

FoolsErrand Road Train Member

Sep 15, 2017
    I haul a lot of stuff like that.. Palletized brick block stone and often mixed oddball slabs or stone steps and things. Its hard to be confident without front and back air gauges and a bunch of scale trips at first to correlate psi to axle weight. Once you have it figured out you can get really close.