What equipment do I need when I get mechanic to install CB Radio?

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by expedite_it, Apr 6, 2020.

1. expedite_it

expedite_it Road Train Member

Sep 8, 2012
    I have never had a CB Radio installed in a truck I drive in my entire career. So please assume I know nothing and explain things to me as if I am a 5 year old.

I have a Cobra 29 LTD Classic CB Radio. I have a 4 ft long 150 watt Francis pre-tuned antenna. I don't have any other equipment for my CB radio whatsoever. My Cobra 29 LTD Classic CB Radio came with a microphone, so I don't need a microphone.

I'm a company driver, working for a mega carrier. I'm not allowed to install the CB Radio myself. I'm not allowed to hire a mechanic to install my CB Radio. I have to let my company's mechanics at a terminal install my CB Radio, which I am going to have done two days from now on Wednesday, April 08.

Right now I am at a truckstop. I'm not going to the terminal until tomorrow. As I said earlier, the CB Radio itself (with the microphone included) and the antenna are the only things I have so far for this CB Radio. The truck I drive is a 2020 Freightliner Cascadia. What other equipment related to my CB Radio should I pick up at the truckstop before I go to the terminal to get the CB Radio and antenna installed? For instance, do I need some sort of mounting bracket for the antenna? Anything else?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chubby Fly

Chubby Fly Medium Load Member

Nov 25, 2019
    I use Wilson trucker antenna but it should be tuned and trimmed. I highly doubt those company mechanics will actually hook up a meter and do that though.

expedite_it Thanks this.
  4. expedite_it

Sep 8, 2012
    What type of meter would one use to tune and trim the antenna?

5. Chubby Fly

Chubby Fly Medium Load Member

Nov 25, 2019