What kind of trailer/freight to haul? (Career planning) OTR

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Sapphire_Glitter, Jan 18, 2022.

1. Sapphire_Glitter

Sapphire_Glitter Bobtail Member

Oct 16, 2021
    Hi everyone and thanks in advance, this is more of a career planning question to see where I want to direct my career. I'm a pretty new driver (only been driving 6 months). And I've been looking for a new company to drive for

Well I have an issue there. I know there's many thousands of companies having all different kinds of freight, anything from dry van to doubles, tankers, intermodal, etc.

I'm wondering what is going to be the best freight to haul? I have tanker and doubles endorsement. And I plan to get hazmat (unless I won't need it)
    I just want something that's going to work for both me and what I enjoy. Is it bad to try different companies/different freight and if I don't like it then move on? I want to find something I like but not have to hop jobs to find something "perfect" because we all know that's not realistic

I want something OTR that pays decent with decent miles. It's certainly more about being happy than good pay for sure as well as having the ability to transition to owner op with my company if I decide to make that move

What are some advantages to hauling different freight like Food grade tank, bulk tank, liquid tank, doubles, triples, reefer, intermodal, flatbed

And how do each of these end up transferring to owner op? Do they pay decent for company but I can get better with different freight?

I'm certainly open to getting a job hauling any of those mentioned, I just need the planning and the pros/cons of all of it, miles I should expect and what I would deal with day to day and kind of shippers/customers I end up taking freight to (ex facilities, how I end up picking up/dropping off, procedures etc.)

Any info that would help me make a better decision on what I should go for is appreciated

2. Truckers Report Jobs