What kind of truck is the test done in--Gears???

Discussion in 'USA Truck' started by getitgirl, Aug 4, 2009.

1. getitgirl

getitgirl Bobtail Member

Jul 31, 2009
    Tyler, TX
    Hope somebody can help with this
    What kind of truck- specifically--- how many gears? This may sound lame but I've been driving 8 for 10 months and a 10 speed will kick my #####.
    I know- drove or should I say tried to drive a 10 speed day cab. IT WAS UGLY!
    Also - any info on the orientation would be great- Actually any info on anything would be great- pre-pass, terminals, where do they pick-up and drop (usually)
    Thanks

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. IUFAN87

IUFAN87 Light Load Member

Jun 22, 2009
    All Over
    Don't know if USA has autoshift or manual at orientation but I'm gonna find out soon. Since from what I've been told 90% or more of their fleet are automatics it would make sense for the obstacle course truck to be the same. Probably shouldnt have to shift on the course anyway. I know what you mean by UGLY. I had driven manual shift cars and light trucks before but the big rigs are a whole different animal haha.

Last edited: Aug 4, 2009
    getitgirl Thanks this.
  4. getitgirl

getitgirl Bobtail Member

Jul 31, 2009
    Tyler, TX
    IUFAN- thanx for the reply-- and your right, shifting a car is NOTHING like shifting a rig. Good luck in school, be safe and have fun on the road.:biggrin_25526:

5. motofish

motofish Light Load Member

Jul 15, 2009
    Monroe, NC