What would be a successful owner operators take-home pay percentage?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Boomgoesthedynamite, Jul 24, 2017.

1. Boomgoesthedynamite

Boomgoesthedynamite Bobtail Member

Jan 20, 2017
    As a company driver I currently get paid a percentage per load which is usually around 25%. After taxes and a small amount of expenses I probably put 20% of that in my pocket/take home.

What percentage do you think successful owner operators get to keep in their pocket after all the taxes and fees and expenses?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. noluck

noluck Road Train Member

Jun 10, 2011
    greenville,sc
    Not enough information to compute.

4. Boomgoesthedynamite

Boomgoesthedynamite Bobtail Member

Jan 20, 2017
    It's just a general question about industry profit margins.

5. mudflap77

mudflap77 Heavy Load Member

Oct 11, 2010
    South western Ontario
    I think what noluck is getting at is there is far too many what ifs to make a stab in the dark
    Simple as driving habits between 2 o/o in identical trucks could be $5,000/yr or more in fuel cost alone.. Depending on other factors that amount could be a significant % of profits

noluck Thanks this.
  6. MM71

MM71 Heavy Load Member

Jun 28, 2008
    AZ
    I pay myself 30% ... have since I started out. Same as I would pay a topped out employee.

7. DUNE-T

DUNE-T Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Detroit, MI
    Usually, like in you case, 50% goes for operating expenses, 25% to the driver and 25% to the owner of the truck. In reality it can range from 0 to 100% depending on the type of work, season, e.t.c

Lepton1 and Sandman 660 Thank this.
  8. Sandman 660

Sandman 660 Light Load Member

Jul 15, 2017
    Weatherford, Texas
    Are you talking about owners who're independent or leasing their truck(s) to a company(ies)?