Who else gets frustrated with the places that won't allow us on the trailer/load?

Discussion in 'Maverick' started by Ridgerunner665, Apr 16, 2011.

1. Ridgerunner665

Ridgerunner665 Road Train Member

Apr 27, 2009
    I got so pissed off at GP in Gladys the other day I almost quit (its not that far from home for me)...I love my job, I enjoy it, and I'm good at it...but I get really agitated when shippers start telling me how to do it...I'm not a quitter and I care about my work history and performance records

GP makes plywood, and they are good at it...I don't tell them how to do their job! I'm a driver...a flat bed driver, been at it a long time, and I'm good at what I do (securing loads, without damage to me or the freight)...and they should not be able to tell me how to do my job...if they don't like the way I do it maybe they should do it themselves, and assume the responsibility for the well being of the load!

I'm not proud of it, but I did (got pissed, didn't quit)...I didn't say anything to any GP employees, that would have been very unprofessional of me and would not have accomplished anything except a bad report on me that would follow me anywhere I may go later.

A flatbed driver needs to be able to get on the trailer and/or the load, its a plain and simple fact.

These tarping contraptions at more and more locations are probably going to be the end of my flatbed driving....unless I could luck into something hauling strictly steel :)biggrin_25519: I would jump on it in a heartbeat).

I don't mind tarping...I actually enjoy it, when I can do it the way I have always done it.

Shippers should put the tarps up on the load and get the hell out of the drivers way and let them do their job.

I know some of you may disagree with me on this, you are entitled to your opinion...and I won't tear it down.