Who would drive for 90% of the load? Why not drive for yourself?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by JboneChicago, Aug 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JboneChicago

JboneChicago Light Load Member

Mar 19, 2017
    I've been a driver for about 1.5 years now. In the first year of driving I learned the ins & outs. By the end of the year I bought a Peterbuilt truck with a flat bed trailer and I started my own authority. Now I am getting ahead but, its still a process of keeping other people out of my wallet.

However I am intensely curious why do 10, 20 or 30 year veteran drivers drive under someone else's numbers and not their own. A lot of these rip off out fits conman a driver into getting paid $1.00 - 1.18 a mile plus fuel surcharge. So my biggest question is why on earth are you allowing a third party to grab up 2/3 of your profit?

Why not drive under your own authority? If you don't want the responsibility of owing your own authority, okay, I understand. But the money you spend working under someone else's authority equals out to a mortgage and a couple car payment monthly... That's why I'm confused because I think it's more fighting ignorance than being responsible with business decisions.

kenn2632 and KB3MMX Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Dino soar

Dino soar Road Train Member

Dec 8, 2017
    Some guys that lease their trucks on are getting much much better deals then what you're referring to there.

You're referring to the bottom feeders that if you lease your truck on to them they'll pay you $1 a mile plus fuel surcharge. For whatever reason there are some inexperience people that whatever whatever they will do that.