Who's good and who's bad?

Discussion in 'Discuss Your Favorite Trucking Company Here' started by joshmck1982, Jan 7, 2009.

1. joshmck1982

joshmck1982 Light Load Member

Jan 7, 2009
    Greensburg, IN
    I'm a wannabe trucker getting ready to go to school to get my license. I had my license 6 years ago and drove for Covenant for 4 months. There were only two good things that came from my experience with Covenant. First, was getting to see the country and some absolutely beautiful scenery. Second was knowing that I do want to drive a truck for a living, but not with a company like Covenant.

My cousin who is a professional driver recommended this site to me today and I've been looking at it all day. My conflict is that I'll read several threads with glowing praises about one company and then I'll read one that completely trashes that same company and I don't know what to believe. I know every company is going to have its good points and bad points, but are there any companies out there that really would be good for a newbie to start out with. After looking at this site all day, I've really come to like Roehl and Transport America with a few others not looking too bad.

Also, any advice from any experienced drivers to help me make the most out of my first company would be really helpful as well. I know I'm not going to graduate from CDL school and instantly make tons of money. I know that I will have to take some BS for a while to "pay my dues" so to speak. I'm just trying to make the best out of whatever company I can get on with. While hopefully being able to stay legal, I will do just about whatever I have to do to make sure the company knows that I will work my butt off to prove to them that I can do the job. Thanks.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Suncoast

Suncoast Light Load Member

Nov 18, 2008
    Tampa, FL