Why can't I find Flatbed drivers to haul my loads?

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by Tim77, Mar 12, 2015.

1. Tim77

Tim77 Bobtail Member

Feb 11, 2015
    Hi Everyone,
    Long time reader but first time poster. I have been a successful freight broker for a while now, hauling produce with reefers most loads. I decided to expand to the lumber market and opened some huge accounts. I figured I could find drivers to haul my loads like I do produce. Boy was I wrong!
    Everyday I get 10-20 loads going up and down the east coast. My lanes are virginia up north, alabama to texas and atlanta to Florida. I only booked ONE load so far with flats in the past two months. It kills me to miss the money from lumber, but it seems NO ONE wants to haul lumber? My loads are 48k, and 6, sometimes 8 tarp required. My customers pay on average $3.00 a mile. Sometimes distance is 300 miles, sometimes 900+. I figured the drivers don't want to get stuck in places like New England or Florida, so I started calling companies there to set up return loads for my drivers and I still can't find flatbed drivers. I have called hundreds of carriers and the quotes I do get when someone sounds interested are way higher than 3 per mile. Now, the customer has other brokers working as well and they fill the loads daily, when I seem to not be able to. Any advice on what I might be doing wrong? Is the Flatbed community that much of a different breed? My loads get posted to internet truck stop and get browsed zero times, maybe there is a flatbed posting forum I am missing here?
    Thanks So much for any advice in advance.
    Safe Trucking brothers:biggrin_2554:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. spyder7723

spyder7723 Road Train Member

Mar 31, 2013
    sarasota, fl