Will DZ experience help me get a long haul AZ job?

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Rayzala, May 18, 2018.

1. Rayzala

Rayzala Bobtail Member

May 18, 2018
    I'm looking into getting a DZ license sometime this month. I wish I just got the AZ a few months back because now I need to pass this M.E.L.T course which seems to be anywhere from $6000~9000 depending on which school or $5000 if you are upgrading from DZ to even take the road test here in Ontario.

My goal is to be a owner operator and do long haul. I have about two years experience as a G class delivery driver and I've found a few DZ jobs that are hiring newly licensed people. So from what it seems I shouldn't have a problem getting DZ experience but I'm not sure how an AZ employer will value that.

I feel like these are my options:

(assuming DZ experience will help)
    1. Get DZ license > Work DZ job for year or two (saving for down payment on truck) > Upgrade license $5000 (MELT program at Humber DZ to AZ) > Apply for owner operator job > Use down payment and finance truck

(assuming DZ experience is useless)
    2. Get DZ license > Work just until you have enough to cover the AZ upgrade program + living expenses for two months > Upgrade license ASAP > Apply for a AZ driver (non owner)> Pray someone hires me > work for two years to get AZ experience > Owner Operator

(assuming I get desperate)
    3. Change my residence to one in a neighboring province > Wait 60-90 days before I am eligible to take road tests in that province> Get AZ license (only Ontario requires me to go to this expensive school)> Pay a few people to lie and say I have experience > Get AZ job and save downpayment > finnance truck > Owner Operator

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Jazz1

Jazz1 Road Train Member

May 7, 2012
    Thunder Bay On