Will Swift in Syracuse NY send me straight to NYC?

Discussion in 'Swift' started by astracat111, Jan 4, 2017.

1. astracat111

astracat111 Bobtail Member

Jul 16, 2016
    I might choose to start working for Swift, but my only drawback with it is that as a rookie I don't want to end up in manhattan or brooklyn on one of my first times out. In fact, if I could I'd like to stay away from NYC and truck out west.

When applying and talking with Werner the recruiter said "well, we're not hiring out west, just on the east coast.". Kind of gives me an odd feeling, like they can't get enough people that want to truck on the east coast.

With Swift, is it possible to refuse a load or find another driver that would take one? Will Swift set me out to NYC on one of my first runs?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. milehunter43

milehunter43 Heavy Load Member

Aug 23, 2015
    Ohio
    I have never worked for Swift, but a lot of dry van companies don't get many west coast runs, because a lot of those loads go on the rail. I hauled containers here in Ohio, and the majority of our loads from the rail were going to or from California/Oregon. Reefers have more opportunities to go out west.

And btw, it's technically illegal to take a 53' trailer off of the highway within the boroughs of NYC (although it's not uncommon for it to happen). I wonder what Swift's response would be when you ask them if they'll pay the fine if you get a ticket for an over-length trailer. In writing over the Qualcomm of course. https://www.dot.ny.gov/about-nysdot/faq/are-53-foot-long-trailers-allowed-in-nyc

Do you already have a CDL?

astracat111 Thanks this.
  4. astracat111

astracat111 Bobtail Member

Jul 16, 2016
    I have my permit, so I'm looking for a company that has training basically.

5. w.h.o

w.h.o Road Train Member

Jan 10, 2011
    Chicago, il