Words of wisdom, tips, etc. Please!!

Discussion in 'Heavy Haul Trucking Forum' started by slick mick, Feb 5, 2020.

1. slick mick

slick mick Light Load Member

Nov 11, 2016
    Central Virginia
    I just got a local heavy hauling job. I have plenty of OTR and local flatbed experience hauling all kinds of steel coils, steel beams, lumber, etc. I've moved some smaller equipment on tag trailers behind dumptrucks, but I'm new to RGN and heavy hauling. This job will be hauling equipment owned by the construction company who says their operators are responsible for loading and unloading so that's helpful. Any words of wisdom, tips, etc.??? Thanks.

Last edited: Feb 5, 2020
    Reason for edit: Clarity
    D.Tibbitt and Landincoldfire Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Landincoldfire

Landincoldfire Heavy Load Member

Sep 27, 2015
    New Holland, Pa
    Seeing you will be pulling and driving the same equipment. Take some to get to know it. And you will probably end up loading and unloading. Study the permits. Don't skimp on securement but you know this part.

booley, D.Tibbitt and slick mick Thank this.
  4. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    I don't know. You need to be prepared to load the equiptment yourself.

I run a four wheeled front end loader myself when working for wages when I can find one to run. If you asked me to load that onto YOUR trailer? Erm... they don't pay for that to me. if I wrecked it then its all on me. You probably will end up getting that thing on there yourself.

Not to say I wont try it, the CAT 936 I had was good footing most of the time.

5. Landincoldfire

Landincoldfire Heavy Load Member

Sep 27, 2015
    New Holland, Pa
    Maybe just reading through some of the threads will give some added insight.