Years of Forwarding/Trucking Experience, Starting at home question...

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by DragonDriver305, Jul 9, 2013.

1. DragonDriver305

DragonDriver305 Bobtail Member

Jul 21, 2011
    North Miami, FL
    Hey guys,

Im a veteran in the industry. Drove for a few years OTR, and worked over 15 years shipping and Forwarding. Now im looking to work at home to help raise my baby daughter. Anyone that started at home interested in giving me some pointers on what to do?

I know how cut-throat this industry is. I would help the Sales dept after i would trace my freight. Gather quotes from our friends from TQL, Forward Air, Landair (i know, i know) and other carriers. Also ,I driven on the road with our good friend CR England to get my CDL and to see what its like from the other side of the phone, (i know what your thinking =) ) I would see the problems from lazy and arrogant dispatchers. So i have grown to be respectful to the drivers out there. Its not easy but hey, its actually a great industry. It made me a better Frowarder/Agent for truckers i think. Im used to sleep with my phone next to me. Getting the calls that the driver can find the address or that the shipper wont accept the load until 36 hours. I been in those shoes and i just hated it when i got in those situations at 4 am, cold and exhausted after driving 10 hrs, just pee and go stops.

My main question is, i ammased my knowledge and looking to go solo to work at home and get some good money for the drivger and myself. Im considering going to Landstar to get my feet wet solo since i dont have stash of cash to burn on licenses. Would Landstar be a good choice to go to? Does anyone else have any suggestions?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Casual Trucker

Casual Trucker Medium Load Member

Sep 7, 2012