Eaton ES 16.5" brake tips

Discussion in 'Heavy Duty Diesel Truck Mechanics Forum' started by bowtieboy77, Mar 17, 2017.

1. bowtieboy77

bowtieboy77 Light Load Member

Aug 16, 2013
    Southern, Ontario
    I am a municipal tech and we have about 6 IH workstars running eaton es style brake shoes mounted on Rockwell drives and steer axles (meritor also makes a brake shoe that works on eaton es platform). My question refers to the 16.5" x 6" that is used on the steer axles. This design uses a heavy return spring on each shoe that hooks to the pin in the roller end of the shoe and hooks to what is referred to as the horse collar ring that is located between the s-cam tube and the s-cam. My question is has any one out there developed a trick to easily install both springs. I usually end up using small pry bars and screwdrivers but it is anything but efficient. I have searched online for any tools available but all I find is the tool used to install the anchor springs which we have. I know of the chain trick used on meritor Q and Qplus shoes to attach the main return spring and wonder if the same idea would work for this style. If it does you would have to do it twice once to hook the upper shoe spring then again to hook the lower. Have not tried it yet as I just actually learned the chain trick a couple months ago. Below is a image of the hardware kit used on this brake set up. Any tips is appreciated.

Attached Files:

OLDSKOOLERnWV Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. OLDSKOOLERnWV

OLDSKOOLERnWV Captain Redbeard

Nov 29, 2011
    West Virginia