02 T800 Horrible Steering Solutions

Discussion in 'Kenworth Forum' started by sowers25, Apr 28, 2012.

1. sowers25

sowers25 Bobtail Member

Apr 28, 2012
    Inwood, WV
    Hello all, I just purchased a 02 T800 tri axle dump truck, its got the cat c12 in it, real low miles (66,000) but the thing takes a football field to turn around. I knew the steering wasn't that tight in it when I test drove it, but after I bought it I quickly realized just how bad it was. I am a pavement contractor and need to get this truck in and out of driveways. The truck has 385 floats on the front and is my first truck with floats so I'm not sure if that makes much of a difference or not. The truck is long 23' bridge law (22' 4" axle to axle). There is a 2' space between the bed and cab. I am considering moving the bed and rears up and cutting off a 2' section of the frame. My question is would that make a big difference in the steering, or is there any other easier solutions?? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. bender

bender Road Train Member

Jul 20, 2010
    Don't Kid Yourself
    Sell the truck and purchase a smaller scale truck that works for you and what you do. After major mods it still won't be the truck that you need for your business. Just chalk it up as a learning experience and who knows, you could even make a profit selling it to put toward your next truck purchase.

4. dave26027

dave26027 Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2009
    Dallas, Texas
    Before you make those mods, check the stops for the steering.