10 rules to be a (Good) Schneider Driver

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Akwilson, Jun 15, 2018.

1. Akwilson

Akwilson Bobtail Member

May 6, 2018
    Hello.

I'm an experienced driver, and would like to write this post as a suggestion to all the other OTR Schneider drivers out there, or ones thinking of driving Orange.

Rule #1: Be honest. I know life out here isn't easy. If you feel like you're getting the shaft, call your DBL and tell them that you feel that way. It also pays to be polite.

Rule #2: Slow down when a 65mph person is passing you. You're governed at 63. You will not win the race slow down to 59 and let them pass. Quit holding up traffic for ####'s sake.

Rule #3: Do not take a truck spot for a bobtail. Park in the front (the internet is usually better there anyway) or in a spot out of the way of the laden trucks.

Rule #4: Take your time. G.O.A.L. G.O.A.L. G.O.A.L. G.O.A.L. The internet is just waiting for a nice video of a rookie Schneider Driver backing into a 2 million dollar load.
    which brings me to
    Rule #5: Every day is your first day. If you treat it like this, you may not have any incidents or ever get fired.

Rule #6: It gets better. I can't say this for everyone, but it has for me. I average over $1200/week as OTR. That's not take-home, but it's good.

Rule #7: Straps. Every time you go to an OC, get 2 load straps. You will eventually need them and will be glad you did.

Rule #8: If you're lonely, go to the diner. Try to strike up a conversation. Many times I've done this and very few have I left feeling like nobody understands what we go through.

Rule #9: Do your pre-trip. This should be #1 but let's be real. OK, you got your coffee and you're going to sit in your cab and let it cool down before you leave, right? Open the #### hood and just look. Thump your tires. Every-time you pick up a trailer, never assume it's road-worthy.