2 Weeks through truck school

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by us_armyson562, Mar 10, 2014.

1. us_armyson562

us_armyson562 Light Load Member

Mar 8, 2014
    el paso, Texas
    What's going on everyone

Names D I live in el Paso tx 2 weeks through trucking school at International schools. I'm looking to get into oil as I used to roughneck but don't really want to work floors anymore but probably still will. Getting my CDL because a lot of compannies see it as a plus for drilling but also as a backup plan I can drive I got a 2 yr med card. Any info/help or advice would be greatly appreciated as I am a complete rookie when it comes to truck driving. Been good so far at school some time this week will be driving through busier streets. Dam I had no idea how much is involved while operating a big rig, but its fun and right hand turns are another animal. But as far as career choices after school been looking to get into flatbed and then move up to heavy haul that looks cool. As for companies their is so many to consider. Been looking at either getting back to oil or OTR with Melton or TMC. But then again I have not looked at all and I think their is a good amount of companies that will pick me up from el Paso. But anyway I have my class A permit with tanks and doubles/ triples. Looking to get hazmat after school. I also have a wife and 3 kids so my wife and kids will have to adjust with me. I'm lucky to have a great wife. But like I said any advice or help or companies to start with will be nice. I do understand like anything I ha ve to pay my dues and that's cool with me. Any advice is always welcome for me. I want to find a good company to work my ### off to be able to take care of my wife and kids.

Thx for any help

Chinatown Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient