2014 Terrastar electrical faults

Discussion in 'International Forum' started by HarrisonFF16, Feb 13, 2014.

1. HarrisonFF16

HarrisonFF16 Bobtail Member

Feb 13, 2014
    I am a firefighter/paramedic with a department that recently purchased an ambulance on a 2014 Terrastar chassis with an allison series 1000 transmission. Since we've had the truck, we've had multiple instances when we start the truck that the check engine light comes on, " ABS module " flashes on the display, and " Check Trans" comes up on the display as well. Then the vehicle will not shift into any gears. We've taken it to the International dealer twice and all they could find were some wires that were pinched and creating too much resistance. They replaced the wires and said this was the cause to the problem. Needless to say, the problem still exists. I was wondering if anyone else has experienced the same issues and if you have, what was the cause and solution to the problem. Supposidly there is an issue with the computer throwing faulty codes and a reapair is supposed to be forthcoming. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Heavyd

Heavyd Road Train Member

Feb 4, 2009
    Sounds like a datalink issue. Sadly, there really isn't much I can tell you without hooking up to it. As a tech, we are really limited to what we can do without seeing what codes are getting logged and whatnot. I do know of the erroneous fault codes that are getting logged by the engine only, nothing else. These are also not causing ABS or Trans lights to come on. Did they happen to mention which wires that they fixed? I am suspecting an 1939 datalink problem.

4. Pablo-UA

Pablo-UA Road Train Member

Oct 11, 2010
    Borispol, Ukraine
    Any ABS problem and TCU throws J1939 data fault code) really transmission unit used VSS and ABS speed data

5. FiremanTim

FiremanTim Bobtail Member

Apr 2, 2014