Advice for Someone New?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Karma212, Feb 23, 2021.

1. Karma212

Karma212 Bobtail Member

Feb 23, 2021
    I've been driving for about 10 months and once I save some money and get some more experience I think I'll be buying a truck however I want to make sure I know everything I need to before I get in to this.

Can someone tell me everything I will need to pursue a career as an owner operator or direct me some where I can learn? Also any other suggestions or advice is welcome.

Chinatown Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. kemosabi49

kemosabi49 Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

Jan 13, 2013
    SW Arkansas
    Keep driving for a company and learn the business aspect of trucking. Save money and then save some more. You should have enough to get the business going and keep it running for up to 90+ days before you get paid. And enough to pay all of your personal, at home expenses for the first 6 months or so.

4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    www.OOIDA.com - is a business website for the owner-operator.

5. feldsforever

feldsforever Road Train Member

Nov 22, 2019
    Live some where near a big city

Midwest Trucker Thanks this.
  6. Vampire

Vampire Medium Load Member

May 14, 2011
    Transylvania
    That is probably the worst thing one could do. Insurance, taxes, housing and living expenses will eat up a large portion of one's income.

7. Vampire

Vampire Medium Load Member

May 14, 2011
    Transylvania
    Evening Karma 212,

I'm going to re-post what I had previously posted as it is relevant. If you are looking to go wholly independent, do some research here and you will find your answers regarding load boards, rates and basically everything else you need to know. There are so many awesome people here with truckloads of experience.