Advice needed on move

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Sydal, Sep 14, 2019.

1. Sydal

Sydal Bobtail Member

Sep 14, 2019
    Hi guys. Me and my family currently live and are from Ireland. We have lots of family in MA and are starting to look in to moving over here. I am a fully qualified truck driver in Ireland and would like to do the same here. If we were successful in gaining our visa is there any companies who help with gaining my cdl in MA. What's the best way to do things. I could also pay for it myself. Maybe gaining our visa would be the first thing to do. Is there a shortage of drivers in MA. I do not want to do nights away as have a family.

Thanks for the help.

blairandgretchen and Chinatown Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Puppage

Puppage Road Train Member

Aug 2, 2012
    Connecticut
    @Chinatown can certainly assist. Best of luck to you.

Sydal and Chinatown Thank this.
  4. FoolsErrand

FoolsErrand Road Train Member

Sep 15, 2017
    Mass is a terrible place to be a truck driver, by american standards. What town(s) are you looking at moving to?

5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Yes, which city/town will you live in?
    Difficult to recommend a starting point for trucking unless we know which city/town you'll live in or near.

Sydal Thanks this.
  6. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    You get a international license to drive for one year only in America. after that you need to become a resident alien or working on path to citizenship to continue driving here on a work visa.