Advice, please: Who will hire me?

Discussion in 'Motor Carrier Questions - The Inside Scoop' started by Countess, Dec 17, 2011.

1. Countess

Countess Bobtail Member

Aug 19, 2011
    San Antonio, TX
    Hi, I'm looking for any and all advice to help me.

I've been an OTR driver for just over 3 months. I love it! I have a lot going for me, too. I'm clean, happy, polite, friendly, and loyal; a courteous driver; with excellent customer service skills and a great load delivery record. I get along great with both dispatchers and customers as well as other drivers. Also, I seem to be a pretty good driver, according to my trainers, testers, and some older drivers, who have all expressed disbelief at my level of experience.

Here's the problem: I backed into a passenger car, resulting in my being cancelled from insurance and subsequently released from employment. I also have one ticket on my MVR, from 2 1/2 years ago in my personal vehicle for speeding.

My company (PAM) did not want to let me go and expressed regret, but had no choice. Both the officer at the accident scene and the company agreed that it sounded like the car was hiding behind me looking for trouble, but that does not negate my responsibility, unfortunately.

So, three + months of experience, one accident, one (older) ticket, and terminated for a safety offense. It sounds really bad, and most companies I've talked to are excited to hear from me until the full story comes out.

I know I'll probably have to work for poor pay, or for a less-than-great company, but that's okay. I just need to get a few months more experience and some companies will forgive my sins. I absolutely do not want to give up driving, and prefer OTR to anything else.

Can anybody give me advice, or leads on who to talk to, or anything? ANYTHING is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. mr truckdriver