Amputee issues getting job and SPE

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by VaMan, Nov 24, 2021.

1. VaMan

VaMan Bobtail Member

Nov 24, 2021
    Hi everyone, I am brand new to trucking and this forum. I see a lot of great information here though so thought I'd share my situation. I'm 52 and am a below the knee amputee of 35 years. I get around very well. Many people tell me they didn't realize I was am amputee when they see me in shorts for the first time. I was a business owners for many years and lost my recent businesses due to covid. I didn't want to work for someone else again, in the corporate setting, and don't have the means to start another business so I decided to get into trucking. I've thought about it several times in the past but was not at the eight point in life for it to work. It is now...I think. So I started cdl training at a local school and the owners told me that they were familiar with the requirements of the SPE process. I soon found out they were not. They told me I did not need to go to a Dr to be evaluated for my SPE and that I would only need to test with the VA dmv once I'm ready to test cdl. The test with DMV was in addition to the Cdl test but that was it. Now after several weeks in I learned that I did need to be evaluated by a board certified Physiatrist or Orthopedic Surgeon before I was even supposed to be I a CMV. So I stopped school for now in order to get evaluation and do by the book but I cannot find any Dr who knows what the SPE is much less perform the evaluation. I am struggling to get this done and to start driving because I can't find a frickin Dr that is willing to help. I feel my possibilities of getting into this business are fading and I really want to do it. I don't give up easily but I'm running out of money while trying to get through school and deal with the red tape. I have not made any money since the beginning of Covid so I'm hurting but don't want to give up to settle for a job I don't want. Any advice