Antenna for Cascadia?

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by Sidewinder373, May 10, 2019.

1. Sidewinder373

Sidewinder373 Bobtail Member

Apr 30, 2012
    Albany, ny
    I've been running Cascadia trucks for the last ten years, so far a 7' skipshooter top loaded antenna has been what worked the best for me, using the low mirror bracket mount. BUT, the last two antennas have failed fairly quickly from I assume too much flex. In the past I ran a predator 10k-27, which are great, but broke mounts from stress. Anyone found a better solution? A antenna that will tune and perform well, and hold up?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. YMItrucking

YMItrucking Light Load Member

Jul 22, 2016
    You have the best antenna for the Cascadia (in my opinion).
    What you can do with the Skip shooter, is to get a 2' section 1/4" piece of PVC and slide it down to the base of the antenna. That will help keep it from flexing.
    The other antenna alternatives would be a 7' firestik which is less flexible than the skip shooter, or you can use a 102" whip (which is what I use). Those would be my suggestion.
    Hope this helps.

4. Sidewinder373

Apr 30, 2012
    Albany, ny
    What type of PVC? Like water pipe?
    Tell me more about your 102" set up. Are you running it on the lower mirror bracket?

5. YMItrucking

Jul 22, 2016
    Yes, a 1/4" piece of PVC that you would find at like home depot. Slide over your antenna, and down to the base, that will help.