Building Relationship With Carriers

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by benlthomas, Aug 18, 2017.

1. benlthomas

benlthomas Bobtail Member

Jul 25, 2017
    Running south east lanes. I wanna know the best way to build relationship with carriers and where to find them. I'm new to brokering. I wanna get to know the carriers that run my lanes, also I don't like posting to load board just picking up any old carrier and never hearing from them again.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. boredsocial

boredsocial Road Train Member

Apr 13, 2014
    Louisville, KY
    Umm don't suck? Be somewhat personable? Have decent freight? If your freight is meh you're going to really struggle to find regulars. People are taking that freight to accomplish something specific, and that something specific doesn't come up much. Nobody plans on taking a ####ty rate in advance. Sometimes an above average rate with a lousy shipper/commodity is actually a disguised ####ty rate.

People do repeat business because you have something to offer them basically. If you don't... Yeah they forget you were ever alive pretty quickly.

gokiddogo, gentran and QuietStorm Thank this.
  4. gokiddogo

gokiddogo Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2012
    Ontario Canada
    Give me a steady good rate and pay me in a timely manner and I will be calling you when I am looking for the next (repeat) load. Get a bunch of good carriers for your lanes so you rarely need to find new ones because I do this with a lot of customers and I can't keep them all happy all the time but not just one of them has the loads when I am in their area all the time either.