Cell Phones

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Get-r-Done, Jan 22, 2011.

1. Get-r-Done

Get-r-Done Bobtail Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Whitby, Ontario, Canada
    I'm just wondering. My company does not supply us with cell phones and I get $25 per month towards my cell phone from the company(touchy subject for me). In the states pay phones are far and few between now a days and a cell phone is almost escential. My question is, do most companies out there do this or are most of you drivers being supplied cell phones or being 100% compensated for your phone bills by your companies? And which cell provider do you find you get the most bang for your buck? Also, I am a company driver not an O/O so I don't think this is a tax right off for me! Thankyou for reading my post, your comments would be apprieciated. Get-r :biggrin_25511:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. bulldozerbert

bulldozerbert Medium Load Member

Oct 5, 2008
    Ontario
    I do not drive full time, but I use my phone, and do not get re-imbursed.

I could, but it is too much fuss to break down every bill for work/personal. I do not use it that much at work.

Pamela1990 and Tam_Tam Thank this.
  4. Flying Finn

Flying Finn Heavy Load Member

Jun 22, 2010
    Ontario, Canada
    I have yet to work for a company that either supplies or reimburses for a cell.

Pamela1990 Thanks this.
  5. bulldozerbert

Oct 5, 2008
    Ontario
    I would not complain about the $25, lest you loose that as well,lol

Pamela1990 and MIT Thank this.
  6. TheHealthyDriver

TheHealthyDriver Heavy Load Member

Jul 11, 2010
    Stony Mountain, MB
    I get $30/month towards my cell phone. However, I don't go south, so that isn't an issue for me. A friend of mine from the company I used to work at stopped at Wal-Mart and got himself a pay-as-you go Verizon phone for using in the US, and he has his usual cell for using in Canada.