Checking In, First Introduction

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by Ray 1104, Jun 1, 2023.

1. Ray 1104

Ray 1104 Bobtail Member

May 30, 2023
    Hello Everyone.

I've been lurking around here since January. After spending months reading various articles on topics here I'm interested in, I decided to make my own account and introduce myself to join the community.

I would like to continue to learn about this industry and I'm hoping to get some advice on my job search.

I am a new commercial driver as I graduated from 160 Driving Academy in Houston, TX on March 24th, 2023 with my CDL - A: combination, air-brakes, and standard transmission. I have had a clean driving record since 1999. No moving violations. No accidents.

I have a felony background with a conviction date of March 2017. I am currently on parole, having successfully completed 36 of 60 months. I have the blessing of my PO but, until I am discharged in June 2025 I am required to be home daily. I can leave the county and even the state of Texas, but I must return home every day. I am not on any type of electronic monitoring. My charges were not related to drugs or alcohol.

Since the end of March, I have applied to numerous carriers in my area and spoken to many recruiters but, as of yet, I haven't had one interview. Because of that, I decided to get my tanker endorsement to give me a better chance and be more marketable. I earned my "N" endorsement on May 24th.

I am from the north side of Houston, TX. zip code 77379 and would prefer to work from a location relatively close to me. I consider Channelview, Pasadena, and Deer Park quite far, being about a 1.5 to 2-hour drive from home under normal traffic conditions. (Ideally, I'd like to stay north of 610).