Copying identification cards at shippers?

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Commuter69, Jun 18, 2024.

1. Commuter69

Commuter69 Road Train Member

Jul 2, 2014
    I'm not a lawyer and don't play one on TV, but I'm confused and angry.

Over the years, I've been to shippers who've asked to see my ID(driver license) for verification purposes. No big deal....
    I've been to a few who've crossed the line by taking copies without saying anything more than 'it's company policy' and unable to establish any legal authority for it. Company policy does not establish a legal authority. When they push it, I use my TWIC, it's a legal, government issued ID, just one that has no significant personal information, right? Some have outright denied the TWIC, even after I've said that was good enough to take freight for the government that began and / or ended at a government facility (mostly military bases, but one pickup was at the Denver Mint).

Having been a victim of identity theft, it's a huge problem that took 5 years and an attorney that wasn't cheap to fix.

Can someone explain the legally permissible purpose for this? Why do we accept it as status quo without even questioning it?

I'm tempted to insist l get a copy of their ID, stating my policy is to get it from everyone who's taken my information without a legal authority..

Last edited: Jun 19, 2024
    Crude Truckin' and W923 Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. tscottme

tscottme Road Train Member

If you have all 3 credit reports frozen it won't matter if someone steals your ID or not. A credit freeze is what you should get, not some alternative sounding phrase. Nobody, not even you can open new credit if you have your credit frozen.