Could use some advice

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by diggingthegarden, Feb 25, 2017.

1. diggingthegarden

diggingthegarden Bobtail Member

Feb 25, 2017
    Hey Everyone,

Hoping to get some good advice on a few questions. I have been browsing these forums and this seems like the best place that I might fight some answers. So here goes. Sorry if the post ends up being a book.

First, I am a veteran. I have been using the gi bill for college, but I am now over 30 and burnt out on schooling. I have 18 months left on the gi bill, but I also do not want to use it on a CDL school. I have been looking and it seems that there are plenty of companies willing to pay for the CDL classes as long as you drive with them for a year or so. That doesn't sound too bad of a deal. A year would be decent to get accustomed to the lifestyle and a little experience behind me. But at the same time if going to a company sponsored CDL school is the worse decision possible I don't mind using my gi bill and getting the CDL on my own. Also would it be possible to just teach myself and show up at the DMV and take the test to get the CDL without having to go to a school? Another thing I have been wondering is what is exactly involved in getting a hazmat endorsement? Is it just a extra test and fee? Or will I need to attend some sort of class? I know it might sound like I am trying to avoid any sort of schooling, but that is not the case and I really don't mind needing to take classes. I just want to know the options.