Crete Carrier Facts

Discussion in 'Crete' started by Overkill, Dec 6, 2011.

1. Overkill

Overkill Bobtail Member

Nov 23, 2011
    Alabama Gulf Coast
    Attention crusty old Cretons: (Company Drivers) I am a 10yr flatbed veteran who is thinking about going OTR dry van with CCC. I've read a lot of info here at truckers report, but I'd like to hear from so long time drivers. It's clear that Crete has made some policy changes in order to survive this recession. God knows everybody has. But I want to know where it stands with Crete today.

Do they really tell you exactly what route to drive?
    Do they really specify where to get fuel?
    Exactly how big of an annoyance is this on a daily basis? It seems like it would be pretty annoying.

How often do they send you on a scavenger hunt looking for an illusive empty trailer? I saw one post that sounded petty pitiful.

How many miles are you getting right now?
    How is freight right now?
    How much do you generally earn in a year OTR?

These are just a few questions to get you started. Give me the lowdown.

Is it a solid company? Is it too big to be manageable?
    RANK YOUR SATISFACTION ON A SCALE FROM 1-10

I am most interested because that will pay me .44 starting out. I make .45 right now. No other company seems to offer that level of pay in dry van.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. DenaliDad

DenaliDad Retired Wheel Dog

December 2, 2011 by: Truckers News Staff

Crete Carrier, <plus two other carriers> have been named among Top Pay Carriers by National Transportation Institute, publishers of the National Survey of Driver Wages. To earn this award, a carrier must qualify in three critical categories: top tier pay, benefits and carrier stability.

All three companies ranked in the highest group for driver pay and benefits while Crete ranked in the highest group for financial stability.