Deciding on a radio

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by Samuelh, Sep 4, 2018.

1. Samuelh

Samuelh Bobtail Member

Jun 23, 2018
    So i have a cobra 29ltd that i had peaked and tuned. Is that radio worth adding ssb, talk back etc etc, you know all the toys or just buy something that already has all the stuff?
    I'm a company driver in a 2017 international lt. It has dual antennas. Is the factory coax good for rx and also tx with say a 100 watt or so linear? If that coax isn't good enough would a single antenna at the rear of the cab work. Running new coax out through the doors and through the mirrors isn't an option due to it being a company truck and i'll only have it for another year maybe less.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    I don't do anything peaked or fancy.

I have a Uniden Pc76xl that is basic, able to adjust to whatever vehicle or antenna it's in via SWR and so on. It's not a SSB radio. (Don't need it really...) it's probably worth 20 bucks after about almost 30 years since I bought it with poker winnings in the I-20 calhoun shop.

One thing I do is velcro a external speaker to the dash so I can hear the #### thing when it's worth hearing, when it's not turned down for quiet in a land of bla.

rabbiporkchop Thanks this.
  4. jessejamesdallas

jessejamesdallas Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2008
    Republic of Texas