Detroit series 60 15:1 issues

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by DDS60, Feb 21, 2018.

1. DDS60

DDS60 Light Load Member

so my truckhas had an inframe with 15:1 pistons and now I have horrible smoke on startup. Goes away once warm but in cold days it could take 20 mins or longer.

Will be going back into it to fix the issue. Would like to know how do I find out which 16.5:1 piston kit would be and if there is one that’s a straight bolt in. It’s a ddec 3 gk motor. Has a different cam and injectors in it. Cam is 4292 and injectors are 5915 I believe.

Any help or even conversation on the subject is welcome and appreciated.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. gseweb

gseweb Bobtail Member

May 24, 2013
    Welcome to the club. I’ve been scratching my head for 2 years trying to figure out why my 12.7 smoked on cold after the rebuild. Recently saw an article by the guy from PP describing this issue. Basically, he says that if you rebuild gk and pk pre-egr 12.7s with oem parts, it would guarantee to smoke (white) on cold. He thinks oem parts are to blame. Mine is pk, but I used the kit from PAI and had the same cold smoke. So I think it has something to do with a lower compression, or a bad install/breakin, or the combination of both. And PP says they tried to fix the problem to no avail. Thus, his recommendation was to upgrade to bk; i.e. put 16.5 to 1 pistons, cam, injectors (and probably jakes).

So you already upgraded cam and injectors. So did I. However, we both seem to still see the same cold smoke. What’s left is pistons. If you manage to find the right kit with 16.5:1 and heavy pins, please do share the part number. OEM only. I’m having a little trouble, for folks at Detroit are not helpful.

4. swaan

swaan Road Train Member

Jul 12, 2009
    BC canada
    Why don't you guys simply phone PP and order the proper 16.5 kits.