Does the trainer/ trainee team drive?

Discussion in 'May Trucking' started by Chinese Bandit, Nov 14, 2016.

1. Chinese Bandit

Chinese Bandit Light Load Member

Oct 18, 2016
    Does the trainer and trainee team drive?
    How many miles must the trainee drive before getting a truck?
    Does May actually pay detention time?

Thanks for all responses.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Not team drive yet. Trainee needs basic training first. Spend a week docking for example regardless of total miles. Then next week trainee has to learn something else etc. When I was a trainer there was a company book and schedule that outlined what trainee was to learn and when during 8 weeks before being tested again by a tester to see if hire to go on own after that period of time.

There is no set miles to run. Sometimes trainee demonstrates a negative problem that totally gets same sent home at some point during training. Other times something is revealed about trainee that needs extra work. Mountain running for example.

With that said, I don't care for detention time because it depends on the company, ask them directly.

When I had my spouse, I had her compressed 8 weeks into two. By the end of the second week we were running full team. Dispatch loved it. LA to Jersey in 65 hours? no problem ZIPP there. My wife as a trainee got to do just about everything there is Ive done in 30 years. Compressed into less than a year. Even after the training was finished, I was still her trainer. The training never stopped. Sometimes I defend her from things she knew nothing about. Until it was time to deal with it such as a hooker asking me for a good time with her overhearing it. She was warned about that happening potentially. So it worked well all around.