Dot physical card

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by aodriver, Oct 12, 2018.

  1. aodriver

    aodriver Bobtail Member

    1
    0
    Oct 12, 2018
    0
    My MI dot medical card expired before I renewed it, any penalty’s?
     
  2. x1Heavy

    x1Heavy Road Train Member

    20,181
    20,451
    Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    0
    Yes, your CDL will probably be downgraded by the state until you have a new DOT physical. You will not legally be able to touch a big truck, until you have a new Valid DOT medical exam and form etc. Then you will need to go to home DMV to reinstate that CDL with the new DOT Medical passing paperwork etc.

    A workaround is to visit the DMV this morning and swear out a sworn affadavit to tier two CDL (No medical card needed until you get a new one, but still cannot touch a Big Truck until you get this DOT medical.)

    Interstate and intrastate is Tier One with DOT Medical attached to it.

    Whatever you do, devote today to getting a DOT medical any way you can.

    If you are truly expired as of this morning, DO NOT touch or get into your tractor trailer. You cannot drive it anywhere. Get yourself to a DOT Doctor.
     
  3. Eddiec

    Eddiec Medium Load Member

    408
    298
    Feb 2, 2015
    0
    Most likely no monetary penalty, other than you're currently disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle. You will most likely receive a warning letter from the DMV that they have not received your med cert, and that your license will be down graded on a future date. if you do get downgraded they usually give you up to one year to self cert with out having to go through the testing process all over again. Confirm...as every state is different. Once you get your med cert make sure you go to your DMV and show them the new card. Get a receipt and the name of the person you see.;
     
    x1Heavy Thanks this.
  4. snowwy

    snowwy Road Train Member

    14,856
    6,375
    Jul 6, 2009
    0
    I don't know about the 1 year.

    I've heard 30 days.
     
    x1Heavy Thanks this.
  5. Manny328

    Manny328 Light Load Member

    69
    54
    Jul 6, 2018
    0
    I let mine expire
    Got it back current after a year and a half
    Then I just went to the website and self-certified
    Also, Faxed a copy of the Certificate to the proper place
    My license was downgraded during that year and a half
    But, I didn't have to take any test again
    I could of went to the website and self certified
    Excepted intrastate
    To avoid my license being downgraded
    Until I got my med Certificate

    Alabama
     
  6. Ridgeline

    Ridgeline Road Train Member

    12,351
    45,878
    Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    0
    30 days if you do not contact sos, it is gone.

    If you voluntarily revoke the cdl, then you have up to 24 months to reinstate it without taking the tests.

    This is from the sos licensing office in Lansing.
     
    x1Heavy Thanks this.
  7. Manny328

    Manny328 Light Load Member

    69
    54
    Jul 6, 2018
    0
  8. x1Heavy

    x1Heavy Road Train Member

    20,181
    20,451
    Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    0
  9. Manny328

    Manny328 Light Load Member

    69
    54
    Jul 6, 2018
    0
    Some of the states are brutal when it comes to keeping the med certificate current
    After reading that
    I'm glad I chose to procrastinate in Bama
     
  • Draft saved Draft deleted