Drive after a total hip replacement?

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by aaronc879, Feb 25, 2019.

1. aaronc879

aaronc879 Bobtail Member

Sep 17, 2012
    I had an accident at my current job that resulted in needing a total hip replacement. It looks like I will have to give up my manual labor paper mill job. My surgeon suggested doing something where I sit more than stand such as truck driving--I have no office experience and no post high school degree. Anyone have any experience with driving a truck after a total hip replacement? Actually driving the truck shouldn't be an issue but what about moving things outside the truck like moving the trailer. I would only accept a job that is no-touch or nearly no-touch and I would do "auto only" training and never touch a manual tranny. Thoughts?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Your biggest problems will be lumping freight and raising, lowering loaded trailers vs landing gear into the mud. Pulling the 5th wheel if you are able to use the good leg with the natural socket to pull against.

I have had one two months ago and am cleared to bowl and horse etc with just one restriction, that never to fall backwards with a twist which will take the whole thing out of joint. I healed much faster than most of the recent patients due in part to my younger age 50's

Driving my own vehicle is not that fun due to it's high seat (Tahoe) but it is what it is. There is no reason if you can stand it why you cannot drive a 18 wheeler. However...