Driver Shortage rant

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Stn4Cap, Mar 1, 2013.

1. Stn4Cap

Stn4Cap Bobtail Member

May 23, 2011
    Eastern Ontario
    I just read yet another article about the so-called driver shortage here in Canada. If there is such a shortage, why is it that companies aren't snapping up anyone with a licence?
    I have been driving truck for the last 13 years. My abstract and CVOR are spotless. I've never had a ticket or accident. I'm not bragging, just stating fact.
    I left a company that I had been with for 10 years because I needed out of the "grocery game". That was my choice. I was hired by a petroleum hauler, where I found out, like my boss told me, "this job isn't for everyone". I left there on good terms, but would not go back. He was right, it wasn't for me. Good on the guys that do it!
    I was hired by a local guy hauling grain. Great job! Loved it. Short haul, home daily, weekends off, excellent boss. Only problem is, VERY seasonal. I tried talking him into expanding a bit to keep the truck moving all year, but, in his words, "I really don't want to run a trucking company". He runs a successful business and the truck was purchased cheap to assist his customers when they were "stuck" for trucking their commodity. Nothing has moved since just before Christmas.
    I knew that, and all along, I had been on the search. Job bank, Kijiji, indeed, wowjobs, all the spots where jobs would be advertised. I have been around this industry since I was born. I know a few of the ins and outs. I've watched it get worse and keep hearing my grandfathers words, "trucking ain't what it used to be".